Why It’s Good To Be A Baby Scrooge

The M Word
The M Word
Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2016

When a new baby (especially a first baby) arrives home, the presents you receive may seem as numerous as the dirty nappies.

I tried to take note of who sent what so as to be able to thank people, but in those early, hazy days, it’s easy to forget another bunch of flowers or pack of gift wrapped muslin cloths (apologies if any pals reading this sent a present that went un-thanked for. They were all gratefully appreciated. Bar the person who sent the rattle shaped remarkably like a penis — you know who you are). Friends with more than one child tell me the presents lessen with each baby. One mate with five kids said she barely received a card for the fifth. Poor numero cinco (not the child’s actual name).

Since having a baby myself, the kind of gifts I send to new parents wildly differs from the naïve, impractical stuff I sent before I knew better.

I digress. This isn’t about new baby gifts or recommendations thereon. It’s about the gifts that come afterwards. Often when a friend has a new baby, people will also get a gift for baby’s first Christmas and first birthday….but where do you draw the line? Do you keep buying presents for friends’ kids indefinitely? What if you’ve started — is it even possible to stop??

I say unless it’s a very good friend, family member or you’re Godparent to their child, buying gifts on an ongoing basis sets an awkward precedent; not only will it become increasingly difficult to stop, but they will feel the need to reciprocate with your kids and before you know it, everyone’s buying gifts for 98 children at Christmas.

I can hear the shouts of “Scroooooge!” from some of you already, but I’m sure others are nodding in solidarity.

I have an insanely generous (slash foolish) friend who started buying Christmas presents for everyone’s babies when they were born. Then she didn’t stop. I met her last December in a panic in TK Maxx, a trolley full of plastic crap I guarantee no one needed (or wanted). This year she said she is just going to get them all a selection box, but I know she’ll cave at the last minute and buy up half the Argos catalogue in a blind panic.

Then I know other people who refuse to be guilted into subscribing to such extravagances. They buy a new baby a “welcome to the world” gift, and after that, it’s down to grandparents and Santa to bridge any gaps.

So this year be brave. Do a deal with friends not to buy each other’s kids presents. They may thank you for it. And if they look completely horrified and unfriend you the next day on Facebook, then either text them saying “Gotcha! Only kidding!” and panic buy like crazy, or suck it up and be thankful you’ll have a few extra euro in your pocket come January.

--

--

The M Word
The M Word

Motherhood not all it's cracked up to be? Don't worry, you're not alone.....welcome to The M Word, for women who happen to be parents.