Small Souls

ehoranpoet
The Mad River
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2018
Photo by Darrin Henein on Unsplash

Outside my window

there is a huge raccoon

who eats live chicks

by the light of the moon

he taunts me: mean

as he plucks them clean

(ice shards for teeth)

Those chicks are my babies

it makes me weep

to think how they suffered

I don’t want to talk about what I should have done

how I should have run outside

how I should have grabbed the gun

how I should have run to you

how I should have brought the gun

when you were suffering -

I was suffering too

Afraid of the toilet

the witch that lived in it

if I shit she would

stick me with a needle

so anal-retentive

I spent my young years holding the crap inside

then I grew chubby, white and blubbery

breasts swollen as rotten melons

Then I got raped,

eaten alive

by a human raccoon

(ice shards for teeth)

by the light of a

horrid post-dawn moon

I don’t like what you’re doing to me -

I whimpered

just a 16 year old virgin

on a downhill slide

to last a lifetime

Who knew I would miss all those years I shit my pants -

those were the easy ones

hell, those were the good times

cuz years get easy and flow together when the difficulty of life

courses itself in and out of your eras

when you spend it wishing for difference

for the old days — the gentle ones

not quite as hard to bear

Now all I hope for

is to live long enough

to help my children have good lives

it doesn’t matter that I want to die

it’s no longer about me

it’s about the young children

who are scared to go to the bathroom

who are scared of the dark

who are scared of angry parents

that yell and they cower like

storm ravaged sunflowers

I am I am

the evil ogre that should get locked up

but who then would stroke

their ochre cheeks of suede

at night as they risk

the closing of their eyes

and lay there — small souls exposed

to the evil teeth of the night,

I whimper

Goodnight little ones.

Momma’s here, sleep tight.

--

--

ehoranpoet
The Mad River

Poet Flower🌻Poetry Editor Anti-Heroin Chic, MA English, MFA Poetry, mental health advocate, youth poet mentor, animal & child protector, #metoo survivor