winter

edh lamport
The Mad River
Published in
1 min readJan 26, 2019

(2019)

From Arcturian via pixabay

there is a
where is the
how have i
what have i
done
spiralling beneath the bitter sun
til my heart bleeds
i have no needs
only

winter creeps on
frosted feet and
sweeps her icy wings
depriving warmth of things
this
this
and the dead earth
surrounds

(i know beneath the frozen ground the embers burn and bring things round but
i don’t care
i don’t care
i don’t
i)

close my eyes beneath the
brutal glimmer of
a tide of glowing stars, a
sea i cannot reach
unfathomable deeps
i will not weep
i will not weep
it is the wind

it is the wind
against my skin
leaching me away
if only i could
say
if only i could

stay
here beside the warm and gentle hearth
my fingers in the dark, this old
thing i’m wrapped in why,
it’s nothing new you see just
same old me
fighting the
chains
before i
finally
drown
but that was a dream
i mean
i am here by the fire
i am
old now and
tired
i
am

i
am

i

--

--

edh lamport
The Mad River

Defying the laws of physics to encapsulate myself in this tiny box with nothing but an alphabet.