Collaborate Confidently

Aaron Polk
The Magnolio Times
Published in
4 min readAug 25, 2020

Have you ever read a cliche that’s beautiful in theory but tough to swallow? That’s how I felt about the quote “if you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.” A little about myself: I grew up the only child in my household. I can be a bit “aloof” at times according to my older sister and if you’re into astrology, I’m a textbook Sagittarius. All of this is to say that I sometimes enter into my own little world and relish in that beautiful utopia, free from outside influences.

If you haven’t noticed by now, this is my amateur psychological self-analysis. That little spiel is my explanation of why I think I struggle with asking for help at times; it is because I would like to believe that I can figure out anything all on my own if given the time and resources. What I did not realize is that the very resources I need — the very resources I crave — are people.

When I detach from my pride, I realize that my aloofness is due- in part- to insecurity. Stepping outside of my personal utopia and working with others means that I open myself up to potential criticism. It means I realize that there are people who are more intelligent, more creative, and better problem solvers. Most importantly, it means I realize just how wonderful that fact is. Stepping outside of my comfort zone is exactly what I needed to truly flourish and reach heights that I would have never seen if I ‘went alone.’

Swallowing my pride and opening myself up to others means ‘Collaborating Confidently.” It means having the confidence to understand my value, regardless of receiving a helping hand. During this awakening, I welcomed different perspectives and processes, which led to me performing better at my role than I ever had. I realized that collaborating subtracted nothing away from myself but in fact, added exactly what I needed. I also flexed leadership qualities that I never knew existed because…well, it’s hard to lead a one-man-band.

Short term, I may have gone faster. By “going alone,” it’s easy to knock out quick tasks because there’s no one slowing me down with their contrasting way of thinking. I’m the player, coach, and GM; what I say goes. The downside to this approach is that my path is extremely limited due to a restricted outlook. It’s taken me a while to realize that I not only belong to my personal utopia but also to a broader team. That team has a few different identities, black being one of them. Black@Sprout is a team that I am immensely proud to be a part of and one that I see growing literally and figuratively each month. I am reminded daily just how much farther I can go by collaborating with the brilliant minds and genuine souls here.

Now on to you: I’m glad that you’re joining the team but want to emphasize that this is just the beginning.

Great, you got the job! You have successfully written a resume, completed an application excelled in two interviews, and maybe even a final presentation. Now what?

From experience, I know that simply showing up to work every day (or any setting for that matter) does not mean that you actually feel as though you belong. Imposter syndrome can be defined as “a collection of feelings of inadequacy that persist despite evident success.” Or maybe you do understand how qualified you are for the role but still don’t feel as though your peers accept you for who you really are.

Shot by NESA by Makers

Whatever the case, we at Black@Sprout are here to ensure that this does not happen — and if it does, we’re here to help you understand that it’s normal and that we can work through those feelings. You belong and are welcome here. “Bring your full self to work” is not just company jargon that we use, it is a motto that we live and work by. It is our commitment to you: that we will collaborate confidently with you on any aspirations that you have. From my personal experience, I can tell you that you’ll go much further if you work with your new team. See you soon.

Click to read about the rest of our Black@ Sprout Social Leadership Principles.

--

--