Podcasts for the People

Black-Owned Podcasts To Inspire A Generation

Kristen Rice
The Magnolio Times
6 min readJan 29, 2021

--

Anyone who knows me, knows I love a great podcast! I can listen to podcasts all day. It is one of the things helping me get through this pandemic. Podcasts have been an opportunity for me to educate myself, push myself, laugh, cry, ride along with a mystery, or sometimes providing a way for me to be more mindful in this world.

If you’re not a podcast fanatic such as myself, basically this will be all about your favorite blogs, people, shows, and topics wrapped up in a huge hub of audio recordings that you can explore, download and listen to whenever you have time. As much as I would love to list every podcast in this article, we’re going to read through a few that are faves from our team.

Inspiration

hey, girl

This podcast hosted by Alex Elle is a personal favorite! It is a great source of inspiration as Elle has conversations with people who inspire her. Trust me they will leave you feeling inspired as well! I would also suggest taking a look at some of the books by Elle as well. Her latest book After the Rain is a reminder that we are all healing, that we all have the courage within us, and that we should all love ourselves.

Fix My Life

Iyanla Vanzant needs no introduction as the successful Life Coach and also has made me reconsider, pause, and think more times than I can count. This podcast is a beautiful and emotional walk through the lives of people who need help. Iyanla helps them navigate their struggles in order to make real change in their lives. I also highly suggest checking out her podcast episode with none other than Oprah which is sure to inspire you!

The Minority Trailblazer

This podcast is in part educational, but also inspirational. As BIPOC people, we don’t hear about all the amazing accomplishments that we have regularly. We are innovators, change-makers, and so much more. I often say there is more to our story than despair and this podcast by Greg E. Hill sheds light on amazing people who are making waves and changes in education, business, comedy, entrepreneurs, and so much more. I hope this inspires you to become a trailblazer in only a way that you can and educates you to find and support these people as well.

Change Cadet

Dr. Akilah Cadet who I first had the pleasure of hearing about from another podcast on this list called I Choose the Ladder. Change Cadet is thoughtfully described as, “a place where we share stories of change, celebrate the little wins, and learn from experts about what it takes to make bold moves in the workplace and life.” Cadet hits on multiple topics that are sure to help inspire you no matter what stage of life that you are in. While you’re listening to a podcast add her an Instagram profile to follow!

Social Justice, Politics, Race

Pod Save The People

Deray Mckesson. That might be strange that I made his name a sentence, but I feel like I could leave that there and not say anything else (jk). However, I love Deray Mckesson and I love this podcast! It’s not only the perspectives of Mckesson that are great, but all the people that he brings along such as the incomparable Brittany Packnett Cunningham and Clint Smith. Now we have regular rotations with the amazing Sam Sinyangwe, Kaya Henderson, and De’Ara Balenger who bring beautiful perspectives. If you want to be educated, laugh, get frustrated at the state of things, but know that you’ll be better off for it then this is the podcast for you!

On One with Angela Rye

Angela Rye also needs no introduction. As if I didn’t love her enough simply for being her, this podcast is even better. Rye navigates so many different conversations with such intentionality that it’s sure to educate, be inspirational, thoughtful, and a lot of times just exciting. How she breaks down the facts and provides context to the larger issues at hand is nothing short of wonderful.

Code Switch

Race. This is a very critical topic to me as a Black person navigating this world. This podcast offers more than just discussion, but impactful, powerful, and insightful stories from so many different perspectives that ultimately lead us to understand that we are all apart of this story. As you listen to this podcast you are sure to be hit home on race from every angle. Prepare to be educated, laugh, cry, get angry, and so much more. Enjoy!

Career & Entrepreneurship

Side Hustle Pro

Nicalia Matthews Okome is amazing! I first heard about her after she had graduated from Business School. I’ve been following her ever since and this podcast is sure to inspire all the existing entrepreneurs and those trying to find a path there. She’ll educate you on how to build a business, raise money, start a podcast and so much more. Her interviews with guests such as Beatrice Dixon, The Founder of Honey Pot, which now is in Target stores are nothing short of brilliance.

I Choose The Ladder

This podcast is everything! I have personally met Watchen Nyanue and she has done such a wonderful job creating a space for Black Women who want to climb the corporate ladder. This all started with this podcast which shows the steps that women from all backgrounds and industries took to climb the ladder. Furthermore, she has made tools such as The Review Planner and events such as The Climb which helps you take that next step.

The Glo Show

The Glo Show, although some may know the name glographics on Instagram. If you’re looking on how to change up your strategy for your business or looking to learn what it takes then this is the podcast for you. Furthermore, if you have questions you can get them asked by simply texting your questions. Listening to this podcast will sure to inspire you to take the next step in your business.

Black Culture

Go Off Sis

I know I said I Choose the Ladder was everything, however, Go Off Sis is also everything! Even though this podcast hasn’t had an episode since October if you are interested in hearing a series about the unique challenges facing Black women with equal parts candor and hilarity then this is the podcast for you. I have never stopped listening to this podcast without feeling a sense of joy or encouragement to take action.

85th South Show

If you’re interested in just laughing, but getting unique perspectives on anything and everything then this is the podcast for you. All the way in Atlanta in only a way that this trio, DC Young Fly, Karlous Miller & Chico Bean, can make you laugh about bitcoin and so much more.

The Nod

This podcast is not only about the culture of today, but the Black culture that we don’t often get to hear about. I find this podcast to be inspirational and as I mentioned earlier a representation of so much joy that exists in the Black community. Even though this podcast has not had an episode since October, I highly encourage taking a listen to some of these!

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention one special podcast in this list and that’s ours! Our podcast is equal parts inspiration, career, culture, and more!

Do yourself a favor and listen to one of these podcasts!

--

--

Kristen Rice
The Magnolio Times

Data Storyteller. Chicago Grown. Mindful Lover. Faith Centered.