About The Malarkey Bin

MJ Richard
The Malarkey Bin
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2023
© MJ Richard P

The Malarkey Bin has been around in some online guise or another, all now defunct or completely privatized, since the late 90s (shoutout to LiveJournal). I don’t know how I came up with the name exactly, but I think it went something like this: I’ve always been quite fond of the word “malarkey”; it rolls nicely off the tongue and makes for a fancy-sounding exclamation when needed (as in “That’s a bunch of malarkey!”); I guess the “bin” part followed, as in a container (of humbug, bunkum, or nonsense); and so The Malarkey Bin became the nonsense container for the various threads of issues, things, people, activities, navel-gazing thoughts that make up the messy filing cabinet of my brain (usually in blog form).

This Bin is a kind of a brand that draws together and allows me to write about various facets of my life and interests. It’s not nonsense really, but an ironic twist on who I am and what I do. I wear a lot of hats, do a lot of things, am interested in way too much — and wouldn’t have it any other way. I come from a family of pathological hobbyists and serial blue-collar job jumpers, so it’s in the blood. The Bin is where I write through the lenses of my identities, jobs, and interests, all in one convenient space.

--

--

MJ Richard
The Malarkey Bin

My last name is not pronounced the way you think it is.