Gaurav Khanna
The Mango People Life
3 min readOct 12, 2017

--

100 Dirham, Sign language, internet, and some humanity helped this Alzheimer patient reach his home.

This is a real story happened to me today. This incident made me learn something very unique. Today I was coming home from the office and I saw an old man, aged approx 70 near to red signal. The man looked very confused, tensed and he was asking people something.

`Usually, what do we do when we see someone like himself? Most of the time we ignore. We prefer to mind our own business.`

I live in Eindhoven, a Dutch speaking country and I can speak English. Not sure why I went to him and asked him what does he want? I thought if he is hungry I might be able to offer him some food. All he could speak one word which barely anyone understood. I requested passers there and no one could understand a bit.

Tried sign language and with his signs, I thought he wants to cross the road. We crossed the road but he repeated the same word on the other side as well. It has been 15 minutes already and no one had clue what he wanted to say.

Finally, I thought to call Police, dialed number from their website and gave them required info. Hoping someone will come and help soon. No one showed up in next 30 minutes. Called again and repeated the story. To my surprise, the operator on other side asked me if the man looks homeless I can leave. But he did not look homeless to me. He had clean and nice clothes. But poor soul could not speak anything but one word. She told me she will tell her colleague to send someone. No one showed up in next 15 minutes again.
I was getting little anxious as we could not communicate at all and I had no clue what to do now. I offered him a banana which he did not eat but offered me back to eat. Sign language was at work.

All of sudden this old man hands me a small zipped wallet from his front pocket. I had little relief thinking some id proof inside. All I found one currency note of 100 Al-Maghrib Driham. I googled fast about this currency and got to know he is from Morocco. As I asked him Morocco, he could happily repeat word Morocco after me. The first problem was solved, I knew this old man is from Morocco but there was no one around.
Thought to call the Police again but they had not shown up earlier as well. I googled Morocco restaurant nearby. Coincidentally there was one Morrocco restaurant 1.5 km far. I called there and told him the story and asked him if he could speak and try to understand what old man wants to convey with his one word.

Surprisingly the old man could somehow manage to speak in Arabic ( Morrocco language ). The last miracle you could expect that the restaurant knew this person. He asked me my address and he came after 10 minutes to pick him up in his car.

The Restaurant owner told this old man has Alzheimer and he usually walks around his house. He has 6 kids and he will drop the old man to his house.

The takeaway from Story is: We are too busy in our life that we simply overlook others. We consider poor and homeless people not part of our society.
Today while helping him, I was thinking what if I am on other side and someone does not help me. Second sign language is the most important communication channel we have. Thirdly I should have asked him identity, wallet long back. Fourth, in such situation do not panic and try every alternative. Last but not the least, it feels good when someone can sleep because of you.

--

--