Experiment of Positivity

Gaurav Khanna
The Mango People Life
2 min readMar 13, 2017

We feel what we think and we think what we feel. It is continuous feedback process. Though we do not directly control our feelings, we do own and control our thoughts; Thoughts control our feelings. You can not feel great and happy if all you are having are bad thoughts. You can not say I am so happy today but it is a crappy day. Our brain processes our thoughts and outcome is the feelings.

On the other hand, we can think positive and ditch our brain. We can tune it for positive feelings. If you are feeling positive, you are thinking positive and net result is again positive feelings. It is a circle, question is how to start this.

Image from Freepik

Since last 4 weeks, I am running an experiment. I am forcing myself to think something positive. I am using a reminder application which reminds me three times a day. Morning 9 o clock, Evening 4 PM and at Night 9 PM.

Reminder says : Look for positivity around you.

After running this experiment for approximate 4 weeks, here is what I deduce.

Durning Morning, 9 AM. I am mostly traveling to office OR getting ready. Somedays I am inside Office. Here is what I find positivity during this time:

Weather, Sunshine, I am alive and breathing, Beautiful smile of the kid on the way, A cute girl sitting in metro, Being grateful for one more day.

During Evening 4 PM, I am mostly in office and here is what I find positive :

I look outside Window and see Weather, sometimes it is raining and it makes me happy, I sip a tea/coffee and relax. I feel grateful for my awesome office surroundings, fruits available to eat and notice people smiling/talking near coffee machine.

During Night 9 PM, I am mostly at home. Having dinner OR had. Here is what I find positive :

Being grateful for tasty food and wine, being happy for gadgets I own and being optimistic for a better tomorrow. I go out sometime for a walk and notice the happy dogs playing.

Overall, what I found : Things which cost nothing OR which are really inexpensive contributed most on look for positive attitude. I noticed weather, smiles, food, health, kids, dogs and self fulfillment. To my surprise these things are available at everyone disposal. It is just matter for attitude and way of seeing things which makes un-happy.

I suggest you too should try this experiment and note down your positive findings. After couple of weeks, comment here what you find.

--

--