Gaurav Khanna
The Mango People Life
2 min readSep 4, 2016

--

I am not the face of my country.

Yes I am Indian and I am proud of it. Unfortunately I am not the face of my own country. By God’s grace I am educated ( to the level that I am a civilzed person who can understand difference between right and wrong ), I have worked in good companies, working in a good company, earn good and live a decent life.

I am 26 and came abroad 2 months back for the very first time in my life. I am in europe. No place is perfect but majority defines a place. Majority is face of any country.

It needs guts to say I do not belong to majority of my own people. Our youth is busy in somehow getting drunk and managing sex talk with each other. Sex is taboo. Love is taboo. Periods are taboo. Kiss is taboo. Amazingly, Relogious fight is not. Corruption is not. Cunning politics is not.

I have been travelling since last 10 days, Nederland, France, Spain and Germany ( one city each ) and you know what, overall I am impressed by people here. They are good if not perfect. They are face of their country. They define their country and I have a positive impression for them.

Now question is why I think I am not face of my own country. While travelling , I spoke with many people. Yes, I initiated conversation which we usually do not. I was not fake. I showed what I felt and they opened up what they felt. Overall majority of them want to travel to India and I was happy knowing that.

But

Few asked me, is it safe ? I dont know why I could not be so confident like when I was discussing about their places. I could not say, yes ofcourse it is safe. And one girl, she made me write this. She expressed her belief. She said she hear so many rapes happening and her blonde hairs might invite trouble and she has impression she should roam with a male friend. I was all affirmative but had doubts for latter as well. All I could say was if you plan let me know, I will help you organising. I saw she is looking in my eyes hoping I am face of my country and I looked back confidently that I am not. She waved me bye from moving train and I was still for a moment.

I wish it would change sometime soon and I would invite them with as hospitality as I wanted.

NOTE :- What am I doing about this except complaining here ? Till date, almost zero. I am improving myself and planning baby steps in this direction.

These are my own views given the society I have seen, people I have been with and news I read.

--

--