I suck at many things and I know it very well

Gaurav Khanna
The Mango People Life
4 min readAug 7, 2017

Let me tell you little bit about myself to make some ground. I am from a middle class family, went through okayish education, spent childhood in a small town, did not know what to do in life, career chose me and went with flow whenever anything happened. Overall I have managed a decent job, a good life till date, changed 4 cities (I love travelling) and I think I am kinda mature person. I am nowhere saying that I have achieved something meaningful and you should follow what I preach. But yea, One thing you can learn : I love myself and life.

I am confronting that I suck at many things in life. Good news is, I know about it and best news is, I have found my peace with it.

Three main pillars of human life are : ‘Personal, Professional and Social’. I suck at all of these three. Do you have any such feeling anytime? Hang tight; you are normal.

Image has no relation with article, I suck at searching as well

If you ask my friends, I presume they will not say bad at my back ( if they do, they suck! ) , many would think I have my shit together. But the reality is no one has managed to do this. Everyone struggles from something. If you will send human to Utopia, she will find a reason to complain why did you send her there and he will complain why did you send them together . This is in our blood passing through generation to generation. We are amazingly stupid creature.

Recently I was having retrospective with myself and realised I suck big time. I suck at many areas of life. From personal to professional to social, I think there is lot which I need to grasp and I stand nowhere in this world filled with amazing people.

In my personal life, I am blessed with good friends. I suck at starting any relation, be it friendship OR dating ( not my cup of tea but I tried to boil water couple of times ). In former area, somehow I managed very few friends whom I consider lifetime friends (If they don’t, they suck!). How did it happen ? Remember, I suck at relations. Mantra is to be yourself and you will attract people you need NOT whom you want.

I asked 2 girls in last 4 years and both said BIG NO without a reason. Yea I know I suck at this. But its okay, keep trying is the key. I have ZERO repent. I own my actions and I know what not to repeat. I hope, I will suck less next time. Do you see the positive outlook ? You need it too.

Professionally, I did okayish till date. Everywhere I went, I had this feeling that I suck at this as well. Believe me, I did . Then what made me moving ? In simple words, the desire to learn and talented people around. You just have to appreciate good people and good work, you will land in a good place. Who said it will be path full of roses ahead, you will definitely have rough days. But isn’t it what makes good days enjoyable. Remember, if you are smartest person in room, you are in wrong room. It is kind of bullshit, if every smart person knows this; why the heck they will spend time with you. Don’t say because they suck!

Socially, I suck too. Yea I am a sucker. Big time! I have 37 matches on Tinder and no conversation is floating 🤓 I don’t gel with people easily. I have seen people who are magician at this, I used to envy them. Then I came across this line “If you think you should be at someone else’s place, you should better mimic everything they do, what they eat, what they wear, how they sleep, what time they wake up and what time they pee” Then only you can be at their place. Remember, everyone is individual. Don’t lose yourself for the sake of someone who has their own ups and downs. I realised I am good who I am. Believe me, you are awesome as well. It does not mean you don’t suck, you do probably less than me.

Now you know I am sucker. Do you think it is bad ? Honestly It does not matter what you think. Thats what the peace I have found. If you keep thinking what others think about you, you suck at sucking at well.

Being a sucker is something which keeps me alive. It keeps me moving. Everyday is something new to learn. Somedays I am flattered with talent around and sometimes I am pissed off like anyone else. But it does not mean I should not breath. I believe life is like a long trekking, you should know your goal and focus only on next step. One day you will reach your destination.

At last, being a sucker is not bad. Being a sucker but not knowing you are a sucker; mean you suck at this one thing which you should not suck but you chose to be a sucker inside out. You suck!

I know this article sucks as well but who cares!

--

--