I am still finding my maturity

Mani Sidhu
The Mani Sidhu
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2020

Poetry

Photo by Stem List on Unsplash

I am still finding my maturity,
Where I lost one.
Or even I ever had one.

Still crawling like children,
Talking to myself,
Finding my own space to exist.

Enjoying my first meal at McDonalds,
With same regular hot tea,
And chicken wrap,
Even the attendants know me.

I am still finding my maturity,
Where I lost one.
Or even I ever had one.

Days have passed like minutes,
I am 27 still feeling like 7,
No worries about the world,
Or even of my self-existence,
It is just that,
I am flying, like kite.
Someone far away,
Extremely far away,
Holding my string,
knows,
What to give,
Or what to take away.

Earlier, teachers were there in schools,
Then lectures of college,
All were same.
Then came managers, clients, work.
All are same.
Only the style of holding and scolding has changed.

I am still finding my way to escape,
Like always,
To find my solace.
Far away. Where no one stays.

Or at least as much as I have stayed.

I am still finding my maturity,
Where I lost one.
Or even I ever had one.

Drinks, girls, sex,
Nothing has stayed far in me,
I am just travelling,
Within me.
As long I will find me.
I have mountains inside me,
And so, do sea,
Bright lights,
And Cold breeze.

They have taken me to far places,
Of complete void spaces.
What were they?
I still imagine.
I still imagine.
Of you, I should have taken you,
But you were busy,
Always busy.
With some sleazy.

I am still finding my maturity,
Where I lost one.
Or even I ever had one.

I will tell you,
When I will find it,
Or when I will meet it.
But telling you true,
I never want to,
I am happy,
The way I am.
Within me.
Without you,
Or without me.
It is the same.
You or me.

I am still finding my maturity,
Where I lost one.
Or even I ever had one.

© Mani Sidhu

--

--