How Doing Nothing Has Given My Life More Meaning

Jennie Glass
Niksen Nature
Published in
5 min readJan 17, 2022

​If you haven’t heard of the term Niksen, let me introduce you to this Dutch term that has made my life more exciting and more meaningful. Niksen is a Dutch concept of “doing nothing,” or “doing something without a purpose.” During the pandemic, many of us did a lot more, well, nothing. Some of us handled this down time better than others, but ultimately we all learned to slow down, which has led many people to reset their priorities in life.

This is one of the superpowers of Niksen: finding more of what brings more meaning into our lives. Let me explain further…

Imagine that you decide to sit with your coffee and just let your mind wander for a few minutes. Maybe your thoughts start spinning, or distractions try and draw you away from your peaceful moment. But let’s say you just stick with it for a little longer…

You look out the window and notice some birds chattering and flitting around, and you start to watch them with interest. Maybe this reminds you of something. Perhaps an argument with someone, or a playful interaction with your children.

You start to compare the two interactions (yours and the birds’), which ultimately gives those moments in your life a greater purpose. These birds are behaving on an instinct that has driven them for thousands of years, and suddenly you feel like you’re a part of a bigger picture.

It’s like looking at the stars and realizing what a small part of the whole universe you are. This perspective brings a sense of calm and connection to your body, and your muscles start to relax.

“There’s less pressure to perform and be productive with this perspective of the greater world and the passage of time.”

Then maybe your brain thinks of that argument or that play time with your kids, and you now see that in this larger context. You begin to prioritize your relationships, and maybe start thinking of how you can strengthen them. Maybe, like me, you even think of how you can bring these new realizations and groundedness into your community, or your job, to share with others.

All this from just sitting with your coffee for maybe 15 minutes. Our brain works a lot faster than I can type or you can read, but all these thoughts happen in just seconds for me. And I oscillate from my thoughts to the birds, for instance. Back and forth, just noticing, thinking, relaxing.

I have had Niksen time that relaxes and calms me, and I have had Niksen time that inspires me with new ideas and wonderings that I then follow up on. It is in both of these instances that Niksen creates more meaning in my life. It helps me set my priorities, and helps me take the next steps in my life with more of a sense of purpose and groundedness. In mindfulness terms, it helps me to be more present and get clear on what’s important, so I can make more time for those things in my life.

In a sense, I am creating something out of nothing. In physics, it’s called “creatio ex nihilo.” In many religions, it’s only God who can do this, which can make Niksen a strong spiritual practice. Whether you believe in Science or in God, or in both, doing nothing really does create, or at least open space for, something new. Maybe it’s a new idea, or a new feeling, but I walk away from Niksen time just a little bit different than I was before. My step is a bit lighter, and calmer, and more aware. It’s like walking away from a meditation session, but with more energy (for me at least, meditation puts me into a sleepy trance).

Scientifically, doing nothing actually activates more parts of our brain. When we’re focused on one task, the part of our brain needed for that “lights up.” But when we do nothing, several parts “light up,” which I see as our whole brain working together. It’s easy to see then how doing nothing can help us see things differently, or come up with new ideas or thoughts.

Have you ever been trying to think of someone’s name, or another detail, and can’t seem to remember it until you’re zoned out driving home, or in the shower? When our brain relaxes, we see more, know more. Or maybe you’re a writer like me, and you get stuck on what to write. But after a walk around the block or some sort of break, an idea comes to you, and the words just start flowing.

This is why taking breaks is so crucial to productivity. We tend to think we have to be productive ALL the time in our society. Whether it’s striving to complete our work, be a good parent, or finish household chores.

“But by taking breaks, we’re not only getting the rest we dearly need, but we’re building up reserves of energy and thought that will allow us to be more productive and creative.”

As an introvert, I’ve always enjoyed a little more down time than the average extroverted or type A person, and so relaxing and doing nothing wasn’t new to me. Somehow during the pandemic with all the extra down time though, I was able to really sink into doing nothing, and learn more about why it’s important. I was able to see my mind making new connections, my body not just relaxing, but feeling more energized. I was able to shed the guilt of feeling “lazy,” and embrace the benefits of doing nothing. I got to create many, many new things, both professionally and personally, and I am so grateful for this time and all the different ways it has brought meaning to my life.

--

--

Jennie Glass
Niksen Nature

Teacher, mother, and lover of loafing in nature. Creator of Niksen Nature and Nature’s Wonder Camps for children.