Monologues of the Fearless, An One Act Synopsis

Amanda
The Masses
Published in
3 min readMar 29, 2017

created and written by Ida Rauh (aka Amanda).

This One Act follows many characters, whom are feminist, or seen as different. Feminism is one of the biggest things that conducts change in our society. These monologues follow characters that vary from women to men to children. It consists of people of all ages and race. In each monologue, they speak of their life story. A story of their struggles in their lives. For example, their child passed away, or a painful marriage. Each of these monologues depict a story of tragedy. This whole show is created to project all of the horrific episodes and feelings we have in our lives. Where in that, we all learn that this world needs to change. Through feminism, we can find equal rights with the genders and all of the labels in this world can be abolished.

The following are few excerpts of the One Act:

Excerpt №1 (Helen’s Monologue)

HELEN:

I am a mother. I am an immigrant. I came into this nation to believe that things will be okay. Here I am, working, dust to my elbows. Earning a small salary, just enough for a small grain of a bread. The colors of my beautiful child’s face is fading to a pale pink. It feels as if everything has died within me. No hope. I work so hard to be a mother, and yet I have to leave my sweet child back at home. I look up from sewing, and the master of the place comes into the room. Plucking people out as if they were feathers from a chicken. Saying there is never enough. There is never enough! In this world, I once had hope that I would be okay. A place where I can be happy once again. As I just close my eyes, all I can see are nightmares. Dark shadow figures coming to get me for everything that I am doing wrong…

Excerpt №2 (James’s Monologue)

JAMES:

I’ve owned an orphanage. A place where unwanted children are dropped on the doorstep like a piece of trash. I haven’t thought of the place since the horrible massacre. These children died. Fifty nine of these young lives were taken elsewhere. I have this endless knot in my throat. This happened on a Christmas Eve. The night where these children with hopeful and gentle tears in their eyes saying I hope that I was good. These children deserve more than just a family, they deserve love. Each one of them says in a prayer that they want a home. A place to just walk into and sit by the fire with pure joy. Christmas is known to be one of the happiest days of the year, a time where families share that love. And then these children never survived to see it. It is like taking a peaceful opportunity out of their own personal tragedies. Those tragedies were healed with my orphanage, but there are so many that are still unwanted. These unwanted children deserved wonderful lives, and they were cut short…

(note: the … at the end of these monologues are in meaning of continuation — since all of this shared is just small excerpts!)

--

--