How The Sudden Death Of My Mentor Changed My Life

A story of unpredictability and hopefulness.

Loris Lange
The Masterpiece
3 min readJul 23, 2024

--

Generated by DALL-E

Recently, I reached out to my mentor via email, seeking advice for my own business. The next day, I read a press release from his company announcing his sudden passing.

Flashback to two months ago

We were sharing a beer, and he was telling me about how well his business was doing, the fun he was having, and how he had acquired land in Asia to build houses. He spoke in depth about his plans for the upcoming weeks. His journey and achievements greatly inspired me. He was a successful entrepreneur, always joyful and helpful.

Life’s unpredictability hit me hard. His death reminded me of life’s fragility and the need to seize each day. Reflecting on his life and legacy, four lessons emerged that have deeply impacted me.

Every day is an opportunity to make a difference

Each day offers a new chance to create a positive impact. I think about what my mentor would give for just one more day. Realizing the blessing of being alive has changed my perspective. I no longer complain about my life but embrace the chance to make a difference. It’s a wonderful opportunity. Here’s a podcast episode that might help you if you are struggling to take new action every day.

Don’t postpone the beautiful things in life

In my high-performance bubble, success is often measured by hard work and long hours, often at the expense of friendships, family, hobbies, and adventures. Knowing life can change overnight makes me mindful of what I sacrifice. Cherish life’s beautiful moments today because tomorrow isn’t guaranteed.

Actions I took immediately:
- Calling my parents every week
- Setting aside one hour per week for creativity, including journaling
- Giving more presents to my loved ones

Address health issues promptly

Two months ago, I was diagnosed with common muscular problems causing stomach aches. It persisted for over a month, but I brushed it off. After my mentor’s death, I became more reflective about my health. A doctor’s visit revealed a serious hernia requiring surgery. Don’t ignore health issues — address them immediately.

“It is health that is real wealth and not pieces of gold and silver.” — Mahatma Gandhi

Living his legacy is the best tribute

My mentor’s legacy of joyfulness, hard work, and creating value for society inspires me. He believed in empowering people, being kind, and making a difference. Spreading his message is the best way to honor him.

Generated by DALL-E

When legends die, it’s up to us to carry forward their vision. I hope my experience offers inspiration and support during tough times. We all endure loss, and how we respond makes all the difference.

--

--

Loris Lange
The Masterpiece

Founder, Sigma Squared, Music Management, and Tech.