Losing Faith

Why I nearly stood up to a man of the cloth to challenge his ‘living in sin’ insult

Josephine Crispin
The Masterpiece

--

Image by Jeff Jacobs from Pixabay

Faith is a gift.

A person of faith can weather most emotional storms and can cling tightly to hope, no matter how fragile, even in the face of imminent death.

But what happens when one loses Faith?

More spiritual than religious

I haven’t lost my faith. I still describe myself as Catholic although non-practicing. And for a long time now, I see myself as spiritual instead of a clinger of Catholicism and its dogma.

My family and kin grew up in this faith. They were not fanatics, just ordinary church-going people, heeding the prescribed doctrine as laid out by those who interpret the same.

I was, perhaps, the first “anomaly” in the family’s faith in that I veered away from its traditions.

You see, I started reading at a very young age, not religious books, mind, but any book that I could get hold of. I had an uncle, a student, who boarded in my family home. He had many books: literary classics, popular fiction, books in French and even Russian, and western pocketbooks. I borrowed his books when he wasn’t looking.

--

--

Josephine Crispin
The Masterpiece

Writes about writing, nature, animals, the environment, social issues and spirituality. Editor and published author of romance novellas amongst other genres.