My Friend Was a Gay. But What He Wanted From Me Ended Our Friendship.

I never thought he would tell me to do something like this.

🌍 S M Mamunur Rahman
The Masterpiece

--

Image created by the author using Canva

In 2011, a stranger sent me a friend request on Facebook. Later, he became my friend (despite our huge age difference). One year after that, everything fell apart.

Here is why.

Martin (alias) was a middle-aged gentleman who lived in California, USA and worked for US Postal Service. He sent me a friend request on Facebook in 2011. Seeing my countryman living in the USA, I gladly accepted the request.

At that time, I was a grad student — young, energetic, and adventurous. So maybe a part of me was excited to know the life in the USA.

Soon my friendship with Martin began. We started exchanging a lot of messages about almost everything.

I came to know that he immigrated to the USA in his early childhood. Now he is a middle-aged man, living alone in his house. When I asked about his family members, he said that his mom and other relatives live in a different city, and his dad passed away long ago.

Within a couple of months, we exchanged phone numbers.

Martin called me at least once a week and talked until the calling card died. We talked about so many…

--

--

🌍 S M Mamunur Rahman
The Masterpiece

1M+ Views on Medium ✦ Editor of The Environment ✦ Boost Nominator ✦ I share stories to transform your life