Why Quitting Your 9–5 Job (to Follow Your Passion) Can Destroy Your Life

Don’t live in a fantasy world. Keep your feet grounded.

🌍 S M Mamunur Rahman
The Masterpiece

--

photo of a white statue representing sad mood
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay. Edited by the author using Canva.

I need your help bro. Want to quit my job. Tired of workplace toxicity.

My friend whatsapped me yesterday.

He told me that he knows Graphics Design a little, is about to enroll in a Video Editing course, and also knows some writing. He is desperate to quit his job and start a freelance career.

When I told him to choose one, he said he is passionate about Graphics Design. He has a knack for it.

You might wonder, why did he call me?

Well, I quit my 9–5 job two years ago, and since then, I have been working as a freelance writer. In these two years, I earned four times more money than what I would earn from that job.

Now, what do you think — should I inspire my friend to quit his job and embrace freelancing? Should I give him a pep talk that ends with ‘If I can do it, you can too?’

When people talk about following one’s passion, they hide a lot of truths.

You feel delighted, thinking you will be able to do things you are passionate about and not face the boss you hate the most anymore…

--

--

🌍 S M Mamunur Rahman
The Masterpiece

1M+ Views on Medium ✦ Editor of The Environment ✦ Boost Nominator ✦ I share stories to transform your life