A Fresh Start.

Kevin Shi
The Mathematical Mindset
2 min readJun 27, 2024
Hans-Peter Gauster on Unsplash

Again, I haven’t updated any of my publications, or my account, for several weeks. Not even my publication made for lazy writing.

I guess I usually like to have my reflections (which is when I feel tempted to write) during midnight or right in the morning. Perhaps finding a better time would be better for a medium-quality writing session.

Anyways, I’m going to post some math-related content in a new publication, made exclusively for mathy-stuff. I will update this consistently, mainly due to the following considerations:

  1. I do at least one thing math/CS related every day, and usually make sure to complete the corresponding train-of-thought before I go to bed
  2. Math drives plenty of philosophical thinking, a lot of which I manage to forget by the time I open my laptop for a brief writing session

Some goals, if there are any:

  1. For the next few weeks, unless I change my mind, I’ll be posting articles showing my full thought process in solving math problems.
  2. Somehow many problem writers (and solution writers) for math competitions don’t even bother to show why each step is taken, leading to the awkward situation of stuff popping out of nowhere.
  3. Many competition books attempt to solve this problem, but they delete the incorrect stuff, leaving a perfect-looking train-of-thought that’s simply unrealistic and difficult to replicate.
  4. I’m not that pro in general, and my mistakes will likely be much longer than my actual workings; plus, I’m trying to re-learn algebra, which I haven’t touched for some time. Hopefully it will be entertaining (???)
  5. Writing my thought out usually changes how I think about problems. Curious to find out how I’ll perform.
  6. We can discuss! Why did I do this step wrong? Where was I thinking of going? What approaches did I use to think about math? Were they effective? Anything, basically.
  7. I’m planning to choose some of the more interesting articles, possibly expanding them and enrich their contents.
  8. My brain has been getting rusty, and it’s time for a new start.
  9. I’ll be choosing a diverse range of problems, varying in difficulty (but all of them are generally very difficult), from famous texts in olympiad and university mathematics. It’ll serve as a resource for coaching my math team, and it’s a resource I’ll keep in mind for my future studies.

In addition, I’ll be solving (and posting) other math problems; if you have a fun (possibly unsolved) problem you want me to look at, feel free to tell me! I’ll try my best to solve it, and provide my solution (or comments, if I fail to do so). It may take a few weeks before I attempt it, but please be patient and be hopeful!

Hopefully this works out. Let’s learn together.

--

--

Kevin Shi
The Mathematical Mindset

Human being that likes math and education, also doing math and AI research