Weaving My Room

Xing Song
The Matter of Architecture
2 min readMay 3, 2022

In this short piece Xing Song explores spaces of public intimacy in the city. Xing is a current Master of Research in Architecture student at the Royal College of Art.

Xing Song, ‘Weaving my room’, video and sound, 2022

# Weave

A conversation between private and public.

An intertwining, a conjoining of self and others.

# Room

Carrying the state of being in our personal space. The inner-self was formed in it.

When we perform acts of ‘intimacy’ in public spaces, is it possible to weave our own ‘room’? How can our feelings be radically externalized onto objects without losing their sincerity and intensity?

In this visual draft, I start with my own experience of feeling public intimacy and weave my identity onto a bird to narrate a story.

In the dream, I present some private acts as fragments in different spaces. I use split screen as an attempt to externalise intimacy in public space and to explore where the boundary of personal space is, where our ‘I’ ends and where the ‘I’ of others begins.

In this story, the video presents a shift in perspective from the ‘gazed’ to the ‘gaze something together’ as a way to explain how public intimacy and communal senses of safety are shaped.

--

--