Back Against The Wall

Sowmya
The Mavericks
Published in
3 min readSep 22, 2022

We all want to do something really significant with our lives. Whether we want to double the size of the company, lose 20 pounds, run a marathon, advance our career, or transform the whole planet, we want to do something big and meaningful with our lives.

With all the challenges and opportunities facing our families, careers, and personal lives, we could use some really big achievements. We all have a favourite celebrity we look up to; someone like Elon Musk or Jeff Bezos, for example, who never cease to amaze us. There are theories that state that, to achieve something, we need to have SMART goals, goals that are Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, and Time Bound. One such specific goal during my PG Diploma course, was to improve and upskill my programming skills by the end of each term. Personally, I believe in setting up difficult goals for myself that are diametrically opposed to Achievable & Realistic. While it might appear that setting up difficult goals that are almost unrealistic makes the person really miserable inside, but more challenging goals give us more fulfilment.

Some people believe that implementing the goal is more important than creating the goal. And while it’s true that execution and implementation are important, this idea misses one absolutely critical reality - if your goal is powerful enough and you are emotionally connected to it, implementation won’t be such a big problem. Something that has really worked for me is this ideology - to remember where you come from, keep the end goal in front of you and when things go sideways, take it all in and make sure it drives you. It allows me to go into the big moments with a different perspective. What it also does for me is to keep my back against the wall and when my back is against the wall, there is no way but to move forward.

With this thought process, I was able to complete my PG-Diploma in Data Science while being involved with a few other personal projects. I gathered the courage to venture into the uncharted waters of pursuing an internship in Data and Research, as part of the wonderful Research Team at The Mavericks. Venturing into a new field, especially while working remotely, can be quite challenging. I was uncertain whether I would even survive one month of Internship while pursuing my Masters. With the right support, guidance and constructive feedback, I reminded myself constantly of why I was here, ‘My Goal’ — to learn and grow. My seven-month internship gave me the opportunity to learn more about the industry and acquire an understanding of how data is used in real life situations. With this knowledge, I embark on a new journey as a full time Maverick, to work on exciting projects and gain new skills through the ground-breaking work that Team Mavericks does.

--

--