Being Judgmental Isn’t Cool; Proving Them Wrong Is!

Jayeeta Chowdhury
The Mavericks
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2021
Kuch toh log kahenge, Logon ka kaam hai kehena

To begin with, I was judged when I decided to get married and study for my Master’s degree in Chennai. Some said it’s not possible to finish studies after marriage, and some said I was escaping the path of studying by getting married. But I love proving myself at the right time. I married the person I love, settled in a new city, and most importantly, got admission to one of the top colleges in Chennai.

After I finished my Post-Graduation with first-class marks, there came along the next installment of judgment. Some thought I won’t take up a job and rely on my husband financially, while others thought I would find an excuse to return home. But, it felt great to prove them wrong when I got a job in Chennai. I was paid decently, which made me lead an independent life, while I also helped my parents, in-laws, and spouse in every way I could.

While I worked there for almost three years, the turning point was when I had to return to my hometown due to an unavoidable family emergency. I could not keep my job even after a transfer due to the pandemic, and other logistic challenges. Sadly, no one understood my plight, and then came the next wave of judgment; where people started to think that I left my job on purpose, that I had no intention of going back to work or, even for that matter, finding one. But as I said earlier, I always wait for the right time.

Although it took ten months in this lockdown to find the job of my choice, I didn’t get impatient to take up any job just for the sake of it. And that is when ‘The Mavericks’ happened to me. I was thrilled to be a part of this team. Not all faces were new; hence, I was moderately confident about this new journey.

To quote Arnold Schwarzenegger as a closure- “It is impossible to be a maverick or a true original if you’re too well behaved and don’t want to break the rules. You have to think outside the box. That’s what I believe. After all, what is the point of being on this earth if all you want to do is be liked by everyone and avoid trouble?”

--

--