My Hometown

Anusha Malhotra
The Mavericks
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2022

According to Merriam-Webster, a hometown is defined as “the city or town where one was born or grew up also”. The Mavericks is my hometown.

7th July 2021, 9:31 am.

First Day Of Work!

I wore the 1 semi-formal shirt I owned and sat on my bed with my laptop placed on a little table. “Gah, it’s going to be so boring and tiresome”, I thought to myself. To me, it just seemed like my first day of entering the corporate world. Just a step towards building my CV. Nothing less. Nothing more.

It was not supposed to be the place I share the cake with Archit, Madhur, Natasha, and everyone else. Nor the place I get relationship advice from Saanya and Ambika. Definitely not the place I would find my gaming partner, Indy. Oh, not the place I’d find my work mom, Drishti. Absolutely not the place where Vishruti and Kyle help me figure out my growing pains. And, God, not the place I would oh-so lovingly call “my hometown”.

I joined The Mavericks at the lowest point in my little young life, and it changed everything. It gave me colleagues I know I’m going to have by my side for the rest of my life. Friends I can always count on. Seniors to run to when the path ahead seems rocky. Believe that I too am capable of making something of me. But most importantly, the 2 H words we can’t survive without.

Hope, and a home.

The Mavericks gave me a reason to wake up on days when getting out of bed seemed impossible, and hope that life cannot always be this way.

So, it is no exaggeration to call this place my hometown. This is where I got the chance to be born again, and grow.

As my favourite song goes, “part of me, will always be, half of my hometown.”

Sign of good times

--

--