Passion, Purpose and Profession: I Found a Place Where They Meet

Harshit Pai
The Mavericks
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2022

We are governed, our minds are moulded, our tastes formed, our ideas suggested, largely by men we have never heard of.

- Edward Bernays

Have you ever woken up in the morning, gone to work, and for the next 8–9 hours strut around listlessly checking off task after task only to realize at the end of the day that you completed work but accomplished nothing. On March 30, 2021, I felt the same. It wasn’t my job that dissatisfied me, this was a job I dreamt of since my University days. It wasn’t the nature of the work that set me awry, this was the work I was deeply passionate about. What bothered me was that I was sprinting in place, but not taking even a single step towards a goal. I lacked purpose.

I entered communications by being inspired by the quote I have mentioned above. I was drawn by the power of moulding minds, of forming tastes and suggesting ideas but little did I know, Communications is not meant to be used as a tool to govern others but to effectively tell the stories which are unheard and to share the ideas which are unthought.

On May 10, 2021, I found a place that believed in the same and stayed true to its name. I found The Mavericks. Here was a group of people who were not just passionate but were driven by purpose. They didn’t just complete tasks but went over and above what was expected. They ran your races with you, fell with you, succeeded with you and above all helped brands tell stories that were unheard of and shared ideas that were unthought of. It is a powerful thing to see purposeful people doing high impact work, it motivates and energises you.

Ever since then, I have never woken up in the morning only to strut around listlessly. Every morning I wake up being reminded that I have found a place where my passion, purpose and profession can meet.

--

--