The world is a stage, we are all actors!

Siddhee Washimkar
The Mavericks
Published in
4 min readMar 19, 2020

--

All of us spend our time in a lot of ways, writing and thinking about the various matters of the world. This time, it’s the first time that I am giving it time and thought to write a blog about myself.

During my Bachelor’s I majored in Economics from Fergusson College in Pune alongside Psychology and German, and then went over to get a Master of Media and Communications degree from Manipal Academy of Higher Education in Manipal, Karnataka. I majored in the broadcast media with having a passion to communicate the many relevant unknown stories of the world to the mass, and a fire to becoming the next Marvel Cooke, while I would continue my brave journey of covering the less visited, restricted zones of the planet, taking risks to get out the truths and facts for my story.

Here I am today with The Mavericks, at a Reputation Management agency, handling Public Relations and Corporate Communications for the various clients we work with. Destiny took a different and unexpected turn. I am sure I am here for a purpose.

One expects life to be a certain way, but many times find themselves to be in another place. That’s the beauty of life which often greets us with its surprises. One should be open to accepting change, as that is something that will stay permanent with you as you grow.

I have been uncomfortable in a lot of situations from my past which has taught me to learn and implement my learnings for the good — I am very thankful for them. Counting every day as a new one, I wonder what I can do today that will help me, the people and life around me to benefit from my qualities. In the same way, your profession is a huge part of what you are, where one should implement their qualities for the betterment of their industry that they are working in.

I am an extrovert who loves exploring around. I like a challenging life without which the journey is bound to get boring. To its pleasure, life is bringing challenges my way, every day — haha! I am someone who does not mind taking measured risks for the achievements I need to accomplish. I believe in working for a greater purpose, for the betterment of the universe, to an extent where if I do not see my work contributing towards the good, I would not get motivated. I do not get convinced by the idea that humans can work in the form of machine labor. Sometimes as I look around, I wonder what we as humans do while operating on our machines for 8 hours or more. Productivity should be a part of one’s daily life. Travel, exploring cultures and the life around, has always remained on top of all this.

It has been three months since I have entered the corporate media industry. I am on my way to finding its greater purpose. My present and past experiences are somewhere connecting the dots to form an entire circle and a better understanding of it every day. It has been a joyous journey full of learning.

Looking at the work universe, there are a few things that I reason about my work. The PR industry needs to adjust to the changing standards as any other industry today. PR should not only handle the communications between a company and a media publication but also guide its client towards the right PR approach taken for the media and the masses. I feel that any PR agency should also count themselves responsible enough to know their client thoroughly before approaching the media, for truthful and honest communication. There is always a good and bad side to a company that won’t be communicated across the public, but as a PR executive one has the right to know their clients thoroughly.

PR is an industry that is also disliked by a lot of journalists, as it does not allow journalists to have direct contact with the PR clients. But, it is mandatory for the journalists to realize and accept that a Public Relations firm is chosen by a company to be its channel for the media for the correct representation and handling of communications, without which things can get untidy.

Gladly, The Mavericks takes the necessary steps in shaping the face of PR according to the required industry standards and demands of today. The Mavericks has introduced me to a family of dynamic and fascinating people who come from different walks of life with having various experiences and stories of their own to share. With The Mavericks I find my own space and time to do the work I am supposed to at an individualistic level. My company gives an individual’s growth equal importance to that of the organization’s — it wins by making the other win. I am pleased and thankful to be with The Mavericks, as I believe that I wouldn’t get to be with a company any better than this, which is best suited for today’s thought set and generation.

I look forward to a great journey ahead with the beautiful people that destiny has put me together to work with, to accomplish many milestones ahead, and to be a proud Maverick!

--

--