Is it listening or is it reading 2.0?

--

The only way I consume books is by reading books not ebooks or audibles but real paper books, I need to feel the papers through my fingers, I need to see like literally see where I’m in the book and if possible I like to smell that old paper scent.

At least this was true until I listened to my first audio book the “If i stay” audio book. Currently I m listening to “We were liars” so I’ll let you guess I love this new way of reading.

“New way of reading” could we really call it that? I mean is listening now considered like reading?

Maybe it is, maybe it’s not, at least for me it felt like reading in a faster kind of way.

When I think about it, it’s really simple but totally amazing to get to listen to a book. I had some trouble sleeping the last couple of months and listening to a book with my eyes shut was really helpful, plus I get to imagine the scenes, it kind of felt like watching a movie that I was directing!

There is also this new trend: authors reading their own book which I find super convenient and extremely cool. This way we don’t just get to read what the author has to say, we also get to listen to him or her say it.

I mean who else would read a book more efficiently than it’s author?

Listening to books read by their own authors unlocks this extra dimension that voice, tone, ponctuation and silence can give without revealing too much either. So you get some extra sneak peeks at the world and the characters the author is building without it taking from you the privilege of imagination.

Listening to books seems to stand in between reading and watching a movie adaptation. You don’t get to imagine everything(especially not the voice tone) like when reading but you get to imagine a lot since watching a movie kind of shots your imagination off.

Listening to books could really be the perfect balance between reading and watching the movie adaptation.

I think it’s quite promising, it is an easy media to use everywhere after all.

You can totally go for a road trip while listening to “Amy & Roger’ s Epic Detour”, I mean how cool is that?

Listening to books for me is a new thing, I’ll wait and see if it’s just some trend that is destined to fade out or if it’s going to stick out there and be a media or maybe the media of consuming stories.

--

--

Mariam Guizani
The meaning of life is to give life a meaning.

Computer Science PhD student, loves photography, reading and running. Smiling is the greatest way of living @mariam_gui