Hey, Media. Here’s where you can find me.

Roy Pankey
The Media Diet Experiments
2 min readFeb 7, 2019

After tracking my news media consumption for an entire day, I learned two things about myself: I don’t have time, and I have all the time.

I start my day with a couple of news and political podcasts while getting ready for class or work. When I have a break in my day, such as a half-hour or so for lunch, I fill it with another podcast. If lunch is an hour, I’ll read an article or two sent to me via an email newsletter, granted the articles are examples of spreadable media and are adaptable to mobile. In the evenings while going home or at the gym, I listen to yet more podcasts.

I realized that I consume the majority of my news through podcasts, because they require little effort from me. I can multitask. The New York Times and Vox are doing podcasts well, and they’re some of my go-to’s.

Hey, Media. I’ll be on the podcast app.

I can’t walk, exercise, or drive safely trying to read a news article. Reading mandates both the use of my eyes and my complete attention, and I often don’t have much time to devote to reading on a typical weekday.

My Moment app metrics suggests otherwise. I use my phone for an average of three hours, 58 minutes daily. Spread across the nearly 60 times I sporadically pick up my phone each day, I spend about four minutes on my phone at a time. (Though I somewhat expected to be embarrassed by my screen time, I’m normal. Moment reports that their average customer uses their phone for three hours, 57 minutes per day.)

Four hours is a lot of time. It’s plenty of time to read almost any news article I want. I choose, though, to spend most of that time on social media. Four minutes on Instagram here, four minutes on Facebook there. Thanks to the fairly-recent introduction of news features on some social media apps, I frequently get news from Snapchat, LinkedIn, and even — cringe — Grindr.

You can find me on social media, Media.

I’m much more likely to get news on my phone than from any other device. Contrary to my laptop, my phone is small, lightweight, mobile, and easy to pull out and use for even mere seconds at a time. (Plus, my laptop always seems to need charging.)

One thing I didn’t need a media consumption experiment to tell me is that I love my mobile device. But maybe someone should tell news companies.

Still there, Media? I’ll be on my phone.

--

--