Meet the 21 year old who pays for news

Gabriela Fernandez
The Media Diet Experiments
3 min readApr 4, 2018

I have a strong belief that if one’s middle school experience was not full of misery, they are not completely human. All jokes aside, as unpredictable as my attitude, outfit choices, and hairstyles were, there was one steady item in my life I could depend on. Receiving my Seventeen magazine subscription in my mailbox was easily the highlight of every single one of my preteen months. There were several reasons why I made my mom fork out about $15 a year to get those colorful glossy pages in my hands rather than just skimming through them at our local grocery store, borrowing a friends’ copy, or attempting to Google the same information. First, I loved knowing that I could read them cover to cover before the new edition even hit stores. I shared that same excitement with my friends when we would discuss what was in it. To us, we got more out of them than just entertainment from celebrity interviews. There were advice columns, beauty product recommendations and reviews, and money saving tips. And, of course, I knew it would be easy to ask my mom to buy me the subscription because it was cheaper than buying them individually.

It has been years and years since I’ve paid for Seventeen, let alone any print media products. This has been made easy for me because of the plethora of free information I have at my fingertips. So, at 21 years old, when I can read, watch, and listen to practically anything I want in an instant, would I pay for any news media at all? The answer is yes. I would. And, I do. The only news I’m willing to shell out money for now is my digital subscription to The New York Times. When I think about the reasons why I pay for the Times, I realize they’re very similar to why I was so excited to receive Seventeen in middle school.

As someone who loves to test and dodge many news sites’ paywalls, the Times offers me something that’s worth my money and time. For an affordable price tag of $4.99 a month for students, I have access to breaking news, op-eds, style, food, travel, and whatever else catches my eye. Archives are at my disposal if I ever need to do any research. Like Seventeen once was for me, the Times is convenient, informational, useful, and entertaining. Not to mention, it’s quality work that I can depend on. I used to save every one of my Seventeen copies, refusing to cut out any of their pictures because I saw them as valuable. In effect, I spent more time with the magazines and constantly referred back to them. Likewise, I have an understanding that I pay for a subscription to the Times so I catch myself going to the site because I want to get the most out of it.

These aspects remind me of our class discussion about how media companies that enable their audiences to spend more time with their content will inevitably incentivize deeper engagement. The “NYT Innovation Report” mentioned that the Times wants to connect their readers through inspiration and by offering a clear advantage over their competitors with quality journalism and an experience they could not get elsewhere. My commitment to both Seventeen and the Times stems from their ability to connect with me on a personal level. A media company should build a community for those who see their content not as a passing interest, but as a core component of who they are and how they define themselves. I could truly not imagine being my brace-faced 13-year-old self without being informed by Seventeen, just like how a life today without access to the Times’ letters, editorials, and op-eds would be very dull. And, that is exactly why I pay.

--

--