7 Good Minutes is Freakin Magic…

Chad Silverstein
The Melody Line
Published in
2 min readJul 8, 2024
Photo by Marcel Eberle on Unsplash

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve poured myself into another during Built to Lead practice, but the cool thing about 7 good minutes is that it never gets old. I recently had the opportunity to practice with the OSU women’s soccer team. I was paired up with one of their leaders, Sydney Jones.

My first question was if she thinks about life after OSU, post-graduation, expecting to hear the usual concerns college students have about finding a career and worrying about money. She looked me in the eye and said she plans on being drafted after graduation. She plans to go pro and keep playing soccer. I loved it. She lit me up with her clarity. Her response was anything but what I expected. It was a good reminder that I have no clue what’s going on inside other people’s heads. Neither do you, which is why we need to assume less.

We invest time practicing 7 good minutes because we know it strengthens our listening skills. It’s a gift to make someone feel completely heard and understood. Imagine always being able to make your spouse, kids, parents, friends, and teammates feel that way when you talk to them.

When was the last time you poured yourself into someone you love for at least 7 good minutes, without focusing on yourself? Take a moment to think, reflect, and do something about it if your answer sucks.

Not familiar with 7 good mins? Here’s a great explaination in under 319 seconds..

About the Author:

Chad Silverstein is a seasoned entrepreneur with more than 25 years of experience starting, leading, and exiting multiple companies. His business earned national recognition, twice being ranked as the #1 business to work for in Ohio. Chad is now a lead writer with Authority Magazine and Executive Coach with Built to Lead.

--

--

Chad Silverstein
The Melody Line

Chad Silverstein: 25-years experience as a CEO & Founder, sharing entrepreneurial insights & empowering the next generation of leaders.