How I Broke Free: From Loathing to Loving to Turning My Vision Into Reality.

Chad Silverstein
The Melody Line
Published in
4 min readJul 28, 2024

Back in 2018, I was in a program called Strategic Coach. The learning was off the charts. One of my favorite takeaways came from three little words, and despite their size, their impact was big. Here they are:

“Who, not how.”

The concept is simple. You don’t have to know how to do everything; you just need to know who can. I remember wondering why I spent so much money to fly to Chicago to learn about this, but then I found myself over the next several years connecting with as many “whos” as possible — people who love doing everything I dread, so I could retire from doing things I loathe.

I’m sharing this because I was recently reminded of the power of OPUS (a big dream for your work and life). While cleaning up some old files, I came across a video I recorded in 2018. As I sat back and watched, my jaw hit the floor. Seeing myself rant in front of a lit-up whiteboard, dumping my thoughts of a big dream in front of a couple of truth-tellers, made me smile. Despite being knee-deep in running two companies, Chet didn’t laugh or tell me to sit down and relax. He just listened and let me go. The funny thing was, nothing I shared had anything to do with what I was currently involved with — not my company that recently found traction with EOS, nor my next expression, a startup and my new found labor of love.

So, what does this have to do with “who, not how”? Everything…

It hit me while watching that you don’t have to know “how” your vision, your big dream will come true. You’re not responsible for that. You’re not in control. You can only dream, do, and decide. The outcome and its timing are almost always beyond our control. Give yourself permission to green light, brainstorm, and free think your way. Embrace a stream of consciousness to capture your thoughts and ideas. Eventually, with some discipline to be consistent, something may surface, and when it does, you’ll know it because you’ll feel it and you’ll soon be able to articulate your “why” behind it. You just have to do what you can do, and that starts with letting yourself do it — or does it?

Ever since becoming a client in 2010, I’ve heard how “HARD” it is to become Built to Lead. But what’s so hard? Picking up a pen and trying to find some time to write is hard? That just seems like a lack of discipline. As a new BTL Builder and after having lots of conversations with potential clients, I find myself thinking the same thing every time I click off Zoom … I don’t want them.

I believe that what stands between us and something really great is the work, but what stands between us and the work is a will. And until I find someone who’s got a strong will, one I believe is burning like I have, then I’ll just wait and focus on my few.

Your problem, if you’re normal and haven’t authored an OPUS yet, is that you don’t have the will. You don’t want it bad enough, or you don’t think it’s worth the effort because whatever “it” is, isn’t possible. Your lack of desire is a problem, and it’s a problem only you can fix — not even the best BTL builder can do that for you.

Give yourself permission to dream. Get out from underneath the ceiling you stepped under. Go after something big and don’t worry so much about how it’s going to happen.

Write it out, refine it, and have the courage to share it with a few who care about you. Dream and do. You never know what might happen. For me, six years later, I couldn’t have imagined being able to script it any better. I’m doing what I love, building something special, and doing it with a few who I trust to help me make it even better.

You want to know how bad you have to want it? This bad….

About the author: Chad Silverstein is a seasoned entrepreneur and thought-leader. With over 25 years of business experience, Chad’s entire career has been dedicated to creating a positive social impact in all of his enterprises. His entrepreneurial journey began while in college at The Ohio State University, where he founded Choice Recovery, Inc., which earned national recognition and was twice ranked as the #1 company to work for in Central Ohio. Chad is now a strategic advisor for Authority Magazine’s thought-leader incubator and an Executive Leadership Coach with Built to Lead, where he recently launched an online community for leadership development.

To learn more and connect with Chad, visit www.chadsilverstein.io

--

--

Chad Silverstein
The Melody Line

Chad Silverstein: 25-years experience as a CEO & Founder, sharing entrepreneurial insights & empowering the next generation of leaders.