A Road Less Traveled

I never thought about being a teacher

Robert Knight
The Memoirist

--

Editorial use purchased from Shutterstock

I was 51 years old when I returned from my Peace Corps service in Chile. It was a life-changing experience. So often though, what you thought were the most impactful moments are not the ones that change your future.

I had been asked to teach English at the Chilean/North American Institute in Concepcion. The Peace Corps encourages you to take on secondary projects, so I said yes. I had never taught anything before and had no training in teaching English.

It wasn’t until I did a terrible job of it that I realized it’s very different to speak a language than to teach it. I did rather enjoy it though. Being the center of attention appealed to my narcissistic side.

Arriving back in the USA at 51 and not having had a corporate job for the last five years, I found it hard to find a position where I could make a living.

I did qualify for several grants and scholarships because for the last three years my salary as a volunteer, had been negligible. I decided to enroll in university again and get a master’s degree in teaching English as a second or foreign language.

I love to travel, and everyone in the world wants to learn more English, so teaching is a good way to travel and have someone else pay for it. I just needed to learn…

--

--

Robert Knight
The Memoirist

Raised in Puerto Rico. Trilingual travel enthusiast, former stockbroker, Export Manager, Peace Corps, and EFL teacher. Retired, living in Zihuatanejo, Mexico.