April Showers Bring Destruction?

Terra Soma
The Memoirist
Published in
Apr 5, 2022
Photo by Marcel Strauß on Unsplash

Weeks of sunshine, warmer weather, and blossoming trees in the Pacific Northwest convinced me it was a good time to transplant the seedlings I nurtured for months indoors.

However, today’s April showers came in the form of icy death cubes: hailstones.

Growing up on a farm, spring hail could ruin our crop, so my heart sank when the first hailstones hit the ground at my feet.

“Seriously? You’ve got to be kidding me.” I said to the cold air out loud.

The seedlings have had a harsh move to the great outdoors.

Welcome to the cold, cruel world, little ones.

--

--

Terra Soma
The Memoirist

Healthcare design strategist and small-scale urban regenerative farmer. Fascinated by nature’s co-evolved partnerships.