Beyond the Badge: Rediscovering Purpose

Leaving law enforcement plunged me into a world of unemployment and despair and haunted by thoughts of suicide.

Natalie Rivers
The Memoirist
4 min readJul 12, 2024

--

Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

Shoving open the heavy door of the police station, I stepped into the crisp spring air of 2017.

That spring I decided to leave Law Enforcement and transition to a slower-paced town where my parents lived. The town is a quaint, bustling hub of activity, with colorful buildings lining the main street and vibrant flower boxes in every window. The pace of life seemed slower, with people strolling down the sidewalk and pausing to chat with neighbors. And the air was crisp and clean, with a hint of freshly cut grass and blooming flowers. The town had a distinct lack of pollution and car fumes that I had grown accustomed to in the city.

After years of serving my community, I longed for a quieter life and a new direction. The adjustment was challenging. Having worked most of my life, I now found myself unemployed. I struggled to find work after moving, and over time, feelings of unworthiness crept in. My relationship with my siblings had been strained for the better part of my adult life, adding to my sense of isolation and despair. Thoughts of suicide haunted me.

One thought remains vivid: I imagined myself sitting in a chair, calling my parents and siblings on FaceTime, an empty pill bottle in my hand, and farewell letters spread out in front of me. As they answered and gathered, I began to say my goodbyes, drifting in and out of the effects of the pills. Tears and overwhelming guilt broke the thought process. These weren’t dreams or hallucinations; they were lucid, well-planned thoughts that shook me to my core. My turning point came in that moment of despair, realizing the gravity of my thoughts.

I had always considered myself a strong and capable person. I had faced numerous challenges in my career as a law enforcement officer, but this mental and emotional struggle was something new to me. It didn’t make sense that at 30-something, I was experiencing these thoughts of hopelessness and despair when I thought I should have had life figured out.

As the weeks went by, I found myself sinking deeper into my depression. I pushed away friends and family, believing that they would be better off without me. But one day, in a moment of clarity, I realized that this was not the legacy I wanted to leave behind. I didn’t want my loved ones to remember me as someone who gave up on life.

That was my turning point.

I reached out for help and started therapy to address my thoughts and emotions. It wasn’t easy; there were days when it felt like nothing would ever get better. But slowly, with support from my therapist and loved ones, I began to see small glimmers of hope.

One of the most significant realizations for me was that it’s okay not to have everything figured out. Life is messy and complicated, and there is no manual on how to navigate it perfectly. It’s okay to not be okay sometimes, as long as you reach out for help when you need it.

In my journey of healing and self-discovery, I discovered my true purpose: supporting others who struggle with mental health issues. By sharing my story and offering a compassionate ear, I’ve helped people realize they’re not alone and that seeking help is a sign of strength, not weakness. This new purpose has transformed my life, giving me a sense of fulfillment and direction. It has also touched the lives of many, inspiring them to face their battles with courage and hope.

If you find yourself in a dark place, please remember that you are not alone, and there is always a way forward. Reach out, speak up, and believe that brighter days await.

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash
  1. Have you ever experienced a major life transition that left you feeling lost or uncertain about your future?
  2. How do you cope with feelings of unworthiness or self-doubt?
  3. What role does faith or spirituality play when facing difficult times?
  4. How can we better support those around us who might be struggling with their mental health?
  5. What steps can you take today to reach out for help or offer support to someone in need?

Hello! My name is Natalie, and I am a freelance writer with a passion for creating articles and short stories on a wide range of subjects. When you buy me a coffee, you’re supporting my journey in discovering fresh concepts and delivering captivating narratives. Your support is invaluable to me and energizes my enthusiasm for writing. Thank you for your incredible support!

--

--

Natalie Rivers
The Memoirist

Aspiring writer passionate about memoirs and short stories. Exploring storytelling and honing my craft. Inspired by personal experiences. Lover of storytelling!