100-WORD MEMOIR

Do Toys Come Alive at Night? Is Russia Fighting Nazis in Ukraine?

What they say becomes the truth

AnnaFromSiberia
The Memoirist

--

Photo by Max Böhme on Unsplash

1997

“Toys come alive at night!” a girl tells me.
“No, they don’t!” I reply.
“But Ms C said so! Do toys come alive at night, Ms C?”
“They do. That’s why we need to take care of them,” says our kindergarten teacher.

I feel angry and helpless. I know I’m right, but my opinion does not matter.

2022

“We are fighting Nazis in Ukraine and saving its people,” announces our president.

Again, I feel angry and helpless. We know our government is wrong, but our opinions are insignificant. Those in power can bend the truth all too easily.

--

--

AnnaFromSiberia
The Memoirist

30-year-old mom, dancer, wife, lover of life. Originally from Russia, but the U.S. is my second home. Currently living the expat life in Thailand.