From High School Ugly Duckling to Granny Runway Model

It took 44 years to come full circle.

Ilona Goanos
The Memoirist

--

Photo Credit Canva

Who says girls with glasses don’t get passes?

It was definitely me. I said it.

I had just turned Sweet 16, and to my great disappointment, had never been kissed.

No one would ever kiss a girl with glasses — I was sure of it. I would change all that by trading them in for a brand-new pair of contact lenses.

I’d been four-eyed since second grade, with thick lenses and chunky frames holding me back in the beauty department. It wasn’t just the glasses but a few other things, like confidence and womanly curves. I was a late bloomer, tall like a beanstalk, nerdy and awkward.

I was ready for a new me. With so much to overhaul, I would take it one step at a time.

Amazed at how clear things were with the new lenses, I wanted to wear them all the time, but I had to tamp down my enthusiasm and follow the doctor’s prescribed regimen to get used to them.

I wore them for a few hours, took a break, and then put them back in a few hours later. Every day the length of time the contacts were allowed to be in my eyes got a little longer. I couldn’t wait until the fall to show…

--

--

Ilona Goanos
The Memoirist

Yoga-Lover, Mother of Monarchs & Mid-Life Thriver. Join "The Pebble in Your Shoe" newsletter: https://ilonagoanos.substack.com/