I Was In A Sex Cult For 10 Years — Here’s My Story

Heidi Thompson
The Memoirist
Published in
5 min readDec 30, 2022

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

There is a particularly interesting group of humans on the planet.

They go by the name Deer Tribe Metis Medicine Society.

They are a cult, but they don’t think of themselves that way.

It’s easy to see why.

They aren’t marrying off 14 year old girls to old men with dozens of wives.

They aren’t committing mass murder by requiring followers to drink cyanide-laced flavor aid.

They (usually) aren’t doing anything illegal.

But they are huge appropriators of First Nations’ ceremonies and traditions.

They operate an extremely weird secret sexual society called the Lodge of Amenti where women are instructed to have sexual intercourse with randomly assigned partners in bizarre “ceremonies.”

(I never participated in that, thankfully. But I was asked.)

And they have every one of their followers convinced that what they are doing is extremely healing and beneficial for the planet.

It Started With A Sweat Lodge

Like many others who find themselves involved in a cult, I was going through a difficult time in my life.

--

--