I Rejected a Lucrative Job in Silicon Valley, Divorced, and Moved Out of the Country

21 years later, I have no regrets

June Kirri
The Memoirist

--

Girl sitting on top of a mountain.
Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

The year was 2001. The San Francisco Bay Area bustled with wide-eyed hopefuls vying for a piece of The Gold Rush pie, the likes of Google, eBay and Yahoo.

The average 20-something yuppies wanted nothing more than that one call: “Hi, I’m a hiring manager at Google.”

Well, I got that call.

I was 27, married for three years to a wonderful man and a mom to a feisty two-year-old Rottweiler.

Our first buy, a three-bedroom bungalow nestled in a cul-de-sac in Campbell, an hour away from San Francisco, wasn’t an eye-catcher but we bought it to sell it down the road for a hefty profit.

Everybody was doing it.

Ralph, my husband’s best friend, and his wife, Deena, had flipped houses twice and were swimming in money.

Their friends, in turn, had invested in some stocks and were flying high on cruises and touring Europe.

We were a tad bit late in joining these urban elites with their SUVs, gold platinum credit cards and crisp business cards.

As predicted, my husband Brandon was ecstatic. Congrats! We have to celebrate!

--

--

June Kirri
The Memoirist

🇯🇵🇳🇵🇺🇸 in 🇩🇪 | Publisher of Bitchy & The Point of View | Ex- journalist & magazine editor I Feminism, women, & motherhood | https://linktr.ee/junekirri