Mayonnaise, Me + Raquel Welch

Beauty and The Condiment

Bonni Brodnick
The Memoirist

--

Photo by imbd.com

When you hear the name “Raquel Welch,” you probably think of her in that famously babacious publicity shot.

She’s standing on the beach in a busty, fur bikini. The earth is parting. Mountains are falling. Volcanos are going off all over the place. It’s from the 1966 action thriller “One Million Years BC.”

But when I say “Raquel Welch,” I think of something entirely different. I think of Hellman’s mayonnaise.

What’s the connection? Have a seat, and let me share a story about Beauty and The Condiment.

Raquel Welch was in Manhattan taking over the role played by Lauren Bacall in “Woman of the Year” on Broadway. The bi-coastal entertainment public relations agency I was with assigned me as one of her press agents for the show.

After Ms. Welch landed from LA, we met in my office. We discussed various requests, like the Girl Scouts wanting to imprint her hand in a pie-pan of wet Plaster of Paris for an auction they were having.

We also decided to meet the following day at a tearoom on Park Avenue in the 50s. Ms. Welch and I would review her upcoming media schedule. I needed to…

--

--

Bonni Brodnick
The Memoirist

Writer. Creative. Thinker. Humorist. Author of "My Stroke in the Fast Lane" + "Pound Ridge Past." A proud Stroke Survivor. Visit me at bonnibrodnick.com