Memoir or Autobiography? Preserve Your Memories

We need to tell our stories more than ever

Cindy Heath
The Memoirist

--

Image by the author in canva.com

I believe stories have power and can share the truth.

By the time I was 18, all my grandparents were dead. Three of them I’d never met. The fourth, I barely knew. But how I wish I had their stories.

While the question of epigenetic storing of experiences in our DNA isn’t entirely settled yet, I’ve always felt the pull to understand my ancestors. I know the power of inherited traits; as a former breeder of registered dogs and livestock, I learned offspring are influenced by their ancestors as far back as four or five generations. We don’t know about humans.

Temperament, health, and physical structure are heavily influenced by genetics, making me curious about previous generations. I understand why research into one’s family tree can be so addicting.

I wish for words of wisdom and inspiration from those who came before. Why didn’t they leave any notes?

There’s value in telling our stories. True or fictional, the process is often life-changing for the writer and meaningful for the readers. And our stories can be actual books, even if we never offer them for sale.

Go ahead, write your life story.

--

--

Cindy Heath
The Memoirist

I’ve been a farmer, entrepreneur, writer, and more. I'm passionate about nutrition, health, nature, and the rewards of personal writing.