My Close Call with Trafficking- The Sound of Freedom Was an Eyeopener!

Hindsight can sometimes be a shocker.

Charisse Tyson
The Memoirist

--

Canva photo

You need to if you haven’t seen The Sound of Freedom yet. It’s a real eye-opener about the sex trafficking of children. After seeing it, I reflected on a time in my tumultuous past and realized I came very close to being a victim.

I grew up in a broken and dysfunctional home. God bless my mother. She did the best that she could. Mom had to work hard as a single parent of three boys and a daughter with zero child support. She worked as a beautician while attending college to get a well-paying job, which she eventually did. Her job at Lockheed building circuit boards paid well enough that she didn’t need a second job, but it took her years to get to that place.

My older brother and I share the same father, and my two younger brothers have the same dad. The fact that neither of them paid any child support speaks to their characters. I never really knew my father, but I remember my first stepfather and his violent bouts well. We escaped from him on Christmas Eve in the middle of the night, but that’s another story.

In many situations, the

--

--

Charisse Tyson
The Memoirist

Author, blogger, and retired biker bar owner. Sharing God-wink stories to give others hope. Check out my memoir Born Again in a Biker Bar http://amzn.to/1HQqPze