SKIN CANCER

My Face Surgery Left a Harry Potter Scar, Not an Eye Brow or Neck Lift

Skin cancer and an ugly selfie

Lisa S. Gerard
The Memoirist
Published in
6 min readMay 18, 2022

--

woman floating on her back in the light blue calm of the Dead Sea with hat and sunglasses
Image by Ri Butov from Pixabay

I used to have visions of cosmetic surgery on my face.

No more.

I lost more time than I care to admit, sitting on my bathroom counter to get closer to the mirror. I fiddled, tweaked, and adjusted what I deemed necessities.

I pulled my sinking eyebrows up, defied gravity, and lovingly pictured post-surgical success. Then I smoothed my carved-in-stone, three distinct forehead ravines as flat as possible against their will. The skin that once flapped under my jawbone looked fabulous as I tucked it up under my hair and behind my ears.

My friends and family were forewarned that I was driven to fix years of sleep deprivation, stress, and angst that had settled in comfortably across every region on my face. Add years of tanning, the sun-worshipping goddess I imagined myself to be, and you have a recipe for wrinkles.

For me, for my peace of mind, for my survival award, I would make my face right again. I neared readiness to erase the damage.

Until skin cancer appeared.

My annual dermatological appointments for total body once-overs always ended with good news…

--

--

Lisa S. Gerard
The Memoirist

Just doing my thing, letting you do yours. Be kind. It matters. Help break Mental Health stigma. Share a smile. https://lisasgerard.medium.com/membership