A QUICKIE LOOK IN MY CLOSET

My Family’s Obsession with Buster Brown Shoes

Saddle Shoes & Maryjanes reigned supreme

Bonni Brodnick
The Memoirist
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2022

--

Buster Brown and his dog Tige wearing blue satin bows around their necks.
Photo by NostalgiaCentral.com

A friend of mine once circulated this question on Facebook:

“Does anyone remember getting a new pair of shoes for the first day of school?”

My response: “Hell, yeah! I do!!”

She came to the right person. My father (David Kogen) was an executive with Brown Shoe Company for eons. They even named a shoe after him called “The Kogey.”

My father was with Brown Shoe Company. Here is a photo of him surrounded by the latest spring shoe line. Circa: 1960-something
Courtesy of the Author’s Archives

This is a photo of my father in his Empire State Building office in New York City. From the colorful array of shoes and sandals, we can surmise that this was a snappy Spring/Summer line.

Turns out, when I hit 7-years-old, I was “model size,” which was lay term for “shoe sample size.” Can you believe??? I was thrilled. My wardrobe suddenly expanded to a preposterous amount of shoes for any first grader. The bounty, that I carefully lined…

--

--

Bonni Brodnick
The Memoirist

Writer. Creative. Thinker. Humorist. Author of "My Stroke in the Fast Lane" + "Pound Ridge Past." A proud Stroke Survivor. Visit me at bonnibrodnick.com