Seven Weeks Sisters

The world ain’t slowing down

Kathy Copeland Padden
The Memoirist

--

The Bride and the Matron of Honor Photo by Kathy Copeland Padden

Sharon. Sweet Shaz.

She swept in and out of our lives so quickly, yet so memorably, like a perfect summer day. But I will always think of my life in terms of before Sharon and after Sharon. Her impact on our lives was incalculable.

You know how when people die, their faces slowly but irrevocably fade from your memory? It’s a slow death in itself. Not Shaz, though. I still picture her as if I last saw her five minutes ago and recall the sound of her voice like we just spoke yesterday. It keeps her close. The downside is that the sadness is still just as fresh and new as well.

They say grief is the price we pay for love. There’s no question that love thwarted by death comes at a very high cost to our hearts. But this tale (as sad as it is) is about gratitude, and I am grateful every day for the time we had with Sharon, however short.

She was funny, smart, and sweet — but above all, kind. Thanks to her, I became a much nicer person due to admiration osmosis so those in my personal orbit should be grateful for Sharon as well.

When Shaz and my little brother decided to get married, we were doubly excited because it would make us sisters. Real, actual sisters! It was almost too cool for us to bear. Neither of us had a sister. Until then. We…

--

--

Kathy Copeland Padden
The Memoirist

is a music fanatic, classic film aficionado, and history buff surfing the End Times wave like a boss. Come along!