She Didn’t Say I Love You Back so I Found a New Tree to Pee On

I told my girlfriend I loved her and she said that’s nice

Hogan Torah
The Memoirist

--

Photo by imustbedead from Pexels

I thought I was in love with Cindy. I’d never felt this way about anyone before, but I’d never been in love. Was it really love or was it infatuation?

Getting to see her four days out of the month when I drove down to San Diego from Los Angeles wasn’t enough. I wanted to move to San Diego, get a place with her, and start building a life together.

I decided the best way to bring it up was to tell her I loved her. I’d been wanting to tell her how I felt for a long time but knew she might not say it back.

We were alone in her room on a Sunday afternoon, and it felt like the right time. I don’t remember my exact words but will never forget hers.

“You’re amazing Cindy. I have so much fun with you. You’re the one I want to be with. I think it’s time we start looking for a place together in San Diego,” I said before I dropped the verse.

“I love you,” I said looking into her eyes.

“That’s nice,” she said smiling.

Fucking ouch. That hurt bad.

She explained that she liked the way our relationship was but didn’t want to move in together. She was…

--

--

Hogan Torah
The Memoirist

Counterculture journalist 💊 humorist 🤪 social media hegemon 🤴 Google me, I autofill 🕶️