Sometimes, the Sea Really Does “Take” People

My life-and-death decision was potentially brave, stupid, or insignificant

John Pucay
The Memoirist
Published in
8 min readOct 13, 2023

--

Author and his friends watching the sunset by the sea while pulling a long fishnet.
Years after the incident. Me (the guy in white by the water) and my high school friends, on a different beach, help a fisherman pull one of their fishnets back to shore. Drone shot by Gibo Doag. October 2018. Image provided by Author.

When it started, I thought my high school friend, Audrey, was just kidding.

“Hey, there’s nothing to step on here,” she told me.

She said it so calmly, and I wasn’t sure at first whether or not she was serious…

--

--

John Pucay
The Memoirist

Author of Karinderya Love Songs; a 2020s dating and sex literary fiction novel. More details at johnpucay.com. Or https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0B3WF1YF8/