Memoir | competitions

That Time I Competed Against a Bunch of Four-Year-olds and Won

They were four, I was forty; I beat them, and they didn’t even know I was their competitor.

Sally Prag
The Memoirist
Published in
6 min readMar 14, 2023

--

The face of a true winner can never be missed! Author’s photo.

One important lesson I have learnt in my parenting years is to never leave anything to chance — especially winning at competitions.

If you think that sounds ominously as if I am willing to cheat to win, you’d be completely right. And nothing is easier than doing so when your child has been told to create something at home for the competition in question.

If truth be told, I’d say those kinds of guidelines are basically permitting the parents to do all the work for the child. Yet, it’s surprising how many parents wouldn’t get involved in their child’s project.

Because that would be cheating, of course!

Yet, for someone like myself with a seriously competitive streak and an inability to let someone else take the lead in anything at all, there was no choice.

Please officer, it wasn’t my fault.

I guess you may be wondering what this task that had been set for said competition was.

--

--

Sally Prag
The Memoirist

Wilfully niche-less, playfully word-weaving. Rethinking life through my words. Sometimes too seriously, sometimes not seriously enough.