LIFE SITUATIONS

The Day I Got Locked Inside a Bathroom for 6 Hours

And how I managed not to flip out

Araci Almeida
The Memoirist
Published in
8 min readMar 5, 2022

--

Photo by Hannah Xu on Unsplash

It was the beginning of 2020, and it seems that this was already a harbinger of what the year would be. However, a note aside, it seems that somehow I even miss that year, as the world seems to be getting crazier by the day.

Before the pandemic hit us two months after the event I am about to tell you about, I had a local business school where I taught English and Portuguese to teenagers and adults. I loved my work, even if it was a lonely job. I had no colleagues, but I was proud that I had started a business. Many people never had the courage or the help to do it.

I admit I am privileged, as my parents helped me since the store was theirs. However, the place was abandoned, dirty, in need of renovation. So I got to work, painted it, cleaned it, and designed the logo business myself, which was glued to the windows.

I was so proud of myself and happy to have my own business. I think I was born to be the boss of myself, and that moment, February 6th, 2018, when I opened my center, was for me one of the most precious days of my life.

I had two clients on the very first day, a man to teach French and a girl who wanted to leave Portugal and move to England. She, in particular, has…

--

--

Araci Almeida
The Memoirist

Trying to be the Portuguese Annie Ernaux or Elena Ferrante