MEMOIR

The Greatest Idea in the History of Art

Forget about Michelangelo, Van Gogh, or Warhol. This idea was mine, all mine.

Brian Throne
The Memoirist
Published in
16 min readJun 14, 2024

--

I wanted to do an art project that would make Michelangelo, Van Gogh and Warhol look like second graders! Would I succeed?
Photo from Wikimedia Commons

Not a member? Read the entire story here.

I didn’t take Professor Blosser’s “Create Art!” course because I loved to paint. I didn’t take his course because I adored museums. And I didn’t take his course because I found him inspirational.

I took his course because I was damn near flunking out of architecture school. I needed a good grade to balance my shitty ones, and I heard that Blosser gave everybody an A. It would be a simple transaction. I needed an A and he would give me one. And an A is justified when you create art — because art is subjective, right?

I Am Not the Flower

Blosser taught the course on the second floor of an old, three-story ramshackle building at the edge of the MIT campus. It had been built during World War II as a temporary building to conduct radiation research and was never meant to survive this long. Now it had an old-fashioned photo lab on the first floor for the photography geeks, and Blosser’s cavernous space on the second. In the attic was a creepy old radiation lab that had been nailed shut for decades. You couldn’t get me up there if you’d handed me a Geiger counter.

--

--