They Say It’s Your Birthday! It’s My Birthday Too, Yeah!

I’ll never get a better gift than what I received on my 31st birthday.

Eddie Biggins
The Memoirist

--

photo of father and son blowing out birthday candles
photo from the author

I’ve never been big on my birthday. When I was little, sure, I loved the attention, the cake, the presents. But when I was around ten I stopped asking for specific gifts. Of course, there would always be something, and Mom was very good at finding stuff I liked.

But no gift could ever top the one I received on my 31st birthday. I got my son.

The day prior was my in-laws’ anniversary and they were at our house to celebrate.

My wife was several days overdue and had been saying she felt funny all day. I encouraged her to call the doctor, but she didn’t think it was anything.

Finally, we called him around 8:00. He thought it was probably nothing, but told us to go to the hospital anyway.

It wasn’t nothing. She was in labor.

My in-laws were hoping for their grandchild to be born on their anniversary, but midnight passed without a result. So they went home.

It didn’t occur to me until sometime in the middle of the night. My baby was going to be born on my birthday!

--

--

Eddie Biggins
The Memoirist

Singer-songwriter, Celtic folk music aficionado, Disney parks fan, father, husband, Alzheimer’s caregiver. Find my music on Bandcamp and most streaming services