Traveling Down the Highway- Not

Pat Romito LaPointe
The Memoirist
Published in
2 min readApr 16, 2022
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

After listening to my younger brother who did not drive: “You have plenty of room to go around that double-parked car” I didn’t. Instead, I had my first accident just four days after getting my driver’s license.

As a result, I became very nervous about driving. Highways, tollways, and four-lane roads were out of the realm of possibilities. I mostly drove in the neighborhoods in suburban Chicago unless there was parallel parking. I made sure to take my driving test at a location that didn’t require such parking. As such, I saved the lives of several traffic cones.

Things needed to change when we bought our first condo in Lake Geneva, WI. Its main purpose was to give me a place to write.

I worried about getting there even though it was just a one-hour drive, taking one two-lane road to get there. However, my need to write became much more important than focusing on my fears.

So, I packed up the car and headed toward Lake Geneva. I put relaxing music on to help calm my nerves and relax my white knuckles. It worked! When I looked out the window and saw the “Welcome to Wisconsin” sign I shouted, “You did it.”

The sad part is that now I no longer drive. No freedom to go to the condo or any other place alone. If I could drive, I might even attempt the dreaded parallel parking.

--

--

Pat Romito LaPointe
The Memoirist

A lover of life stories, often finding humor in them. Refuse to take life too seriously. Appreciate out of the ordinary tales and those that inform.