What I Learned from My Aggressive Dog

Catelyn Silapachai
The Memoirist
Published in
8 min readMar 31, 2023

--

Reagan and I by Inked Fingers

I was 25 years old when I adopted my first pet, a middle-aged retired racing greyhound named Reagan. In 2012, I was a young professional living alone in an apartment in Dallas, Texas. I had a long-distance boyfriend and enough friends, but I felt lonely at home and longed for a pet.

From my work at a large bank, I searched on the internet: “What is the best pet for someone who works long hours and lives in an apartment?” I was sure that I would be directed toward a cat, which wouldn’t work with my allergies. I was surprised to see an article about retired racing greyhounds at the top of the search results. A lifelong dog-lover, I excitedly clicked on the link to learn more.

I was shocked to learn that, despite their reputation, greyhounds are sprinters, not endurance runners. That means that a quick sprint around the dog park and a short daily walk is more than enough exercise for most retired racers. I learned they are actually quite cat-like, preferring to be clean and perched regally on furniture, rather than rolling around in mud or grass. I also learned that greyhounds possess soulful, intense personalities that thrive on attachment to their owners. Lastly, I read that they are considered “lazy;” often sleeping for 8–10 hours during the day. Sounds perfect, I thought.

Adopting a retired racing greyhound

--

--

Catelyn Silapachai
The Memoirist

I write about books, parenting, politics, and religion. I live in Austin, Texas with my husband, daughter, dogs, and plants.